Skip To Main Content
* Offers Creative and Performing Arts (CAPA) special program
** Offers Creative and Performing Arts (CAPA) & Gifted Academy special programs
*** Offers Adult Education program

Freshman

The Freshman Academy is designed to support students as they transition from middle school to high school.

Teachers collaborate to develop common expectations for the students and develop materials, activities, and events to support students' successful completion of their first year of high school. Another focus of the team is to help ninth grade students make an informed decision as to which of the College and Career Academies they will enroll in beginning their sophomore year. ​​

As a part of the Freshman Academy, students will

  • Participate in the College & Career Readiness course (formerly known as Freshman Seminar). This year long course offers students an opportunity to explore their interests, work on soft skills, explore social emotional needs, as well as take a deep dive into the Academies. ​
  • Attend the Academy Expo. This event allows students to experience hands on demonstrations with businesses from around the region. Alignment Rockford hosts this event, and works diligently to ensure all of our Academies and pathways are represented by employers and community members.
  • Visit pathway courses to have an idea of what they might experience in their pathway classes

Important Contacts

 

Freshman Academy Principal

Amber Lee-Black

Fr AP

mailto:amber.lee-black@rps205.com

 

Freshman Academy Secretary

Ms. Kirsten Wilsey 
kirsten.wilsey@rps205.com

 

Gifted/CAPA Freshman Counselor 

Paige Campbell

paige.campbell@rps205.com

 

Parent Liaison

Hosea Harris  
hosea.harris@rps205.com

MTSS Coordinator

Natasha Harris  
natasha.harris@rps205.com

 

Academy Leads

Kim Campbell
kimberly.campbell@rps205.com 

Jessica Basford      
jessica.basford@rps205.com

Learn more about the Academy Expo

Freshman academy logo: black "R" with red text
First page of the PDF file: HighSchoolPlanningGuide_English

Click to view high school information and course descriptions. Shortened versions available soon in Spanish & Arabic.